IBC: Recombinant DNA

IBC Overview

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is a standing committee at Rice University that is responsible for reviewing projects that involve, but are not limited to, synthetic and recombinant DNA, pathogens and other potentially infectious material (including tissue or samples derived from humans), and transgenic animals. The IBC also provides oversight to the intramural community in matters pertaining to the control of biohazards associated with the use of microbiological agents and their vectors. The IBC also represents the interests of the community with respect to public health and protection of the environment. Oversight by the IBC is mandated by the NIH Office of Science Policy and the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules (NIH Guidelines).

What does the IBC do?

  • Determines appropriate safety procedures for research involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acids and potentially biohazardous materials
  • Sets containment levels for experiments involving whole plants and animals
  • Periodically reviews institutional compliance with NIH Guidelines

The IBC at Rice University

  • Must be composed of a minimum of 5 members with at least 2 member not affiliated with the institution.
  • Must have the appropriate expertise collectively for recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecule research, biosafety, and physical containment
  • Must consist of plant and animals experts, a biosafety officer (as appropriate), and at least one representative member from the laboratory staff.
  • Two (2) members must not be affiliated with Rice University who represent the interest of the surround community with respect to health and protection of the environment.

Current Roster of the Rice Institutional Biosafety Committee

Dr. Edward Nikonowicz, IBC Chairperson BioSciences
Petko Ivanov, Biological Safety Officer Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. Janet Braam, IBC Member BioSciences
Lisa Mosley, IBC Member Office of Research
Dr. Natasha Kirienko, IBC Member BioSciences
Dr. Isaac Hilton, IBC Member Bioengineering
Dr. Michael Diehl, IBC Member Bioengineering
Dr Caroline Marie Ajo-Franklin, IBC Member BioSciences
Dr Lauren B Stadler, IBC Member Civil and Environmental Engineering
COMMUNITY (Non-affiliated) MEMBERS
Dr. Scott Patlovich, UTHealth Director of Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. Shalaka Kotkar, BCM Biological Safety Officer
Dr. Marivonne Rodriguez, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Safety Specialist