IBC: Recombinant DNA

IBC Overview

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is responsible for reviewing projects that involve, but are not limited to, synthetic and recombinant DNA, pathogens and other potentially infectious material (including tissue or samples derived from humans), and transgenic animals. The IBC also provides oversight to the intramural community in matters pertaining to the control of biohazards associated with the use of microbiological agents and their vectors. The IBC also represents the interests of the community with respect to public health and protection of the environment.

Who is IBC?

The IBC is a standing committee at Rice University that is responsible for the oversight of research that includes recombinant DNA whose composition and responsibilities are mandated by the NIH Office of Science Policy and the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules (NIH guidelines) .

What does the IBC do?

  • Lower containment levels for certain experiments in which nucleic acid from Risk Group 2-4 is cloned in non-pathogenic organisms
  • Set containment levels for experiments involving whole plants and animals
  • Review periodically institutional compliance with NIH Guidelines
  • Adopt emergency plans covering spills, contamination, other accidents

The IBC at Rice University

Must be composed of a minimum of 5 members with at least 2 member not affiliated with the institution

  • Must have the appropriate expertise collectively for recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecule research, biosafety, and physical containment
  • Must consist of plant and animals experts, biosafety officer (as appropriate), and at least one representative member from the laboratory staff.
  • Two (2) members must not be affiliated with Rice University who represent the interest of the surround community with respect to health and protection of the environment.

Institutional Biosafety Committee Members

Dr. Edward Nikonowicz, IBC Chairperson BioSciences
Petko Ivanov, Biological Safety Officer Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. Janet Braam, IBC Member BioSciences
Kelly Campbell, IBC Member Office of Research
Dr. Natasha Kirienko, IBC Member BioSciences
Dr. Isaac Hilton, IBC Member Bioengineering
Dr. Jeffrey Tabor, IBC Member Bioengineering
Dr Caroline Marie Ajo-Franklin, IBC Member BioSciences
Dr Lauren B Stadler, IBC Member Civil and Environmental Engineering
COMMUNITY (Non-affiliated) MEMBERS
Dr. Scott Patlovich, UTHealth Director of Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. Rachel Gamble, BCM Biological Safety Officer
Margaret Wilde, BCM Assistant Biosafety Officer