Graham Foundation —
Carter Manny Award for Dissertation Research

Note to PIs:  The following program summary is intended to be used for informational purposes only. It does not replace the sponsor’s actual funding opportunity announcement. Always review the most recent version of the sponsor’s full announcement to verify that the deadline has not changed and to identify the most current program requirements.

About the award

The Carter Manny Award supports dissertation research and writing by promising scholars whose projects have architecture as their primary focus and the potential to shape architectural discourse. Projects may be drawn from the various fields of inquiry supported by the Graham Foundation: architectural history, theory, and criticism; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; visual arts; and other related fields.

The research award assists students with research that is essential to the doctoral project. The research award can be used for travel, documentation, materials, supplies, and other research and development costs. Applicants for a research award should have a clearly defined work plan, travel plan, and goals.


PhD students who are presently candidates for a doctoral degree are eligible to apply.

  • Students must be nominated by their department to apply for the Carter Manny Award.
  • A department may nominate up to two candidates: one for the Research Award and one for the Writing Award.
  • At the time of application, students must have completed all requirements for the PhD except the dissertation and have had their dissertation proposals formally approved by their academic departments.
  • A student may reapply for the Carter Manny Award if a previous application was not successful. Due to limited funds, a student who received a Research Award or a Writing Award is not eligible to apply for another Carter Manny Award in subsequent years.
  • The award is open to students officially enrolled in schools in the United States and Canada, regardless of citizenship.

Note:  A department may nominate up to two candidates: one for the research award and one for the writing award.  Therefore, it is imperative that applicants coordinate with their department to ensure that the department is not nominating more than the allowable number of candidates for this award.

Award amount

Research award:  Up to $15,000.

Award period

One (1) year.

Application Deadline

November 15, 2021.

Learn more


Last updated:  July 2021.